Archive | Support Group RSS feed for this section
Feb. 5 Call for Caregivers: How to accept help

Feb. 5 Call for Caregivers: How to accept help

Our special feature for the ECN Virtual Support Group call for caregivers will dive into the high-value topic of how to ask for — and accept — help from others. The call is set for Wednesday, Feb. 5, beginning at 8:15 p.m. Eastern time (5:15 p.m. Pacific). Register now. Couldn’t we all learn something more […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }
101 Awesome Things

Dec. 1 Virtual Support Group Details

Looking for ways to take a break from your major caregiving duties? We’ll talk about a great way to do that in our next caregiver support group, on December 1. We’ll start at 4 pm EST, 1 pm PST and 7 pm UK time. Register here and tell your friends. Author  Elaine Wilkes has detailed […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Virtual Support Group Set for Sunday, Aug. 25

Caregivers who are supporting loved ones with chronic disease will meet by phone Sunday, Aug. 25, beginning at 4 p.m. Eastern time, 1 p.m. Pacific and 10 p.m. in the U.K. We support each other in small group discussions by phone. The call is free but you must register for the call in advance. Just […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }
Media Mike5

Become a smarter consumer of long-term care

The ECN virtual support group on July 29 helped caregivers become smarter consumers of senior care services. Mike Campbell, the author of When Mom and Dad Need Help, provided insights on topics ranging from how to discuss long-term care options with your loved ones, to how to evaluate the quality of long-term care facilities. Listen to […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }
Diddel

Reduce the frustration of caregiving

The main topic of discussion for the May Virtual Support Group was, You’re Driving Me Crazy!:  Managing Anger & Frustration in Caregiving. Our guest expert was Dr. Roberta Diddel, the creator of Disability101.org and a lecturer in psychology at Rice University in Houston. Among the courses Diddel has taught at Rice and elsewhere are: The […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }
FindingTheJoy

Brenda Avadian provides tips to find JOY in caregiving

In the 16 years since becoming a caregiver, Brenda Avadian has written eight books on caregiving, including Finding the JOY in Alzheimer’s – Caregivers Share the Joyful Times. On Sunday, April 29, Brenda shared her caregiving experience in our monthly “virtual” support group conference call. Listen to the recording here. Underlying Brenda’s caregiving philosophy is the premise […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }
suzannemintz

Suzanne Mintz Explains Why Caregiving Doesn’t Have to Be So Hard

Suzanne Mintz, co-founder of the 35,000-member National Family Caregivers Association, was the featured speaker in the ECN Virtual Support Group March 25. ECN Founder Jay Kraker interviewed Mintz about the updated edition of her book, A Family Caregiver Speaks Up: It Doesn’t Have to Be This Hard. Mintz has cared for her husband, Steven, since his 1974 […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }
KariBerit

How to discuss the elephants in the room

The Virtual Support Group for caregivers held on Feb. 26, 2012, featured a lively discussion with Kari Berit, whose book, The Unexpected Caregiver, explores how Baby Boomers and their parents can deal with difficult caregiving issues. Listen to the recording here. These issues include “emotion-laden subjects that so often leave the two generations tongue-tied,” such […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }
lifejacket

2012 Caregiver Virtual Support Group Calendar & Recordings

Throughout 2012, ECN will host Virtual Support Group calls generally on the last Sunday of the month at 4 p.m. Eastern time (3 p.m. Central, 2 p.m. Mountain, 1 p.m. Pacific). Each call begins with a brief presentation by a caregiving expert, followed by a question-and-answer session. Then, we break into small groups of 4-5 […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }
Ask (Hicks)

Learn to feel better about any situation

If you’re a caregiver for very long, you’re bound to experience the complete range of emotions–from joy to anger and despair. Unfortunately, an estimated 70% of all caregivers display signs of depression, and as many as half of those may be considered clinically depressed. It doesn’t have to be this way, at least not for […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }